czech republic






Government of the Czech Republic

The Government is the supreme body of executive power.
It consists of the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and Ministers, and coordinates activities of the ministries and the central bodies of the state administration and manages the state administration throughout the territory of the state. The Government has exclusive legislative initiative in terms of the state budget.

The President is elected for a term of five years by a joint session of both chambers of Parliament (maximum two successive terms).
The President is the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces. Presidential power is limited; the most important is the right to veto any bill which has already been passed by Parliament, with the exception of constitutional bills. This power is void in times of constitutional or other political crises.

The Parliament consists of two chambers - the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate.
It passes all bills valid in the territory of the Czech Republic and expresses approval of important international treaties; i.e. those concerning human rights and basic liberties, political treaties, and general economic treaties. It decides the most important acts of state, such as declaring war or approving the deployment of foreign armies on Czech soil.

The Chamber of Deputies is made up of 200 deputies who are elected for a term of four years.
The last elections took place in June 1998. The President can dissolve the Chamber of Deputies in cases outlined in the constitution. Political lobbies, ongoing parliamentary commissions and committees operate in the historical building which houses the chamber.

The Senate is made up of 81 senators elected for six-year terms.
Every two years one-third of the Senate’s seats come up for re-election. The Senate cannot be dissolved.


Copyright 2001